My Time of Day

clockDoes the time of day affect how you run?

For me, it does.

I have to run when I have spare time, which ends up being at all times of the day: early morning, mid-morning, afternoon and evening. I find that I’m at my best in the mid-morning, about 9 a.m., and I’m at my worst in the afternoon, say 4 p.m. At first, I thought the awful daytime runs were due to poor lunch choices, but I’ve tried a few different strategies, all with the same terrible result. I am running with the same people, at the same pace, but the time of day can make or break the experience. Who knows why my body rejects this time of day? But it does every time.

I guess I’ll never sign up for a 4 p.m. race, and that’s good to know.

I have a feeling we all have our perfect time of day to run, what’s yours? — Amie

One thought on “My Time of Day

  1. I like to run in the middle of the day, at my lunch time. It helps break up my day, is a great stress buster and I usually feel good. My running club runs on Tuesday evenings and that works for me also. I guess I’m pretty flexible, but mid day would be my first choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

