Competition Lies Within

While running is a competition at heart, all runners know the real competition lies internally. That is, you’re always competing against yourself. Besides, once you start trying to compare yourself to other people, you’ll go a little bonkers.

Last week, for the first time since I’ve had children, I ran home from work. Once upon a time, I used to do this about once a week. As I ran that familiar route, I couldn’t help but compare the run to my previous jaunts on the same stretch. But then I got to thinking: Is it even fair to compare myself to … myself?

applestoorangesAfter all, my life has changed drastically in the past few years. Before, I had all the time in the world to run and train and do whatever the hell I wanted. Now, I literally have to schedule running on my calendar or it doesn’t happen. Plus, there is a big logistical change. I’m the transporter of not one, but two children, and that limits my ability to come and go as I please.

But, it’s still me. The talent pool is still the same. Right? Or is it? I’m not sure, really.

Anyway, I had many self-loathing thoughts on my run home from work when something occurred to me. I’m still not comparing apples to apples. I gotta give myself a break. As the pace of life changes, so does our running pace.

So why am I so worried about it all? Is it my pride? My competitive spirit? I’m not quite sure. I do know two things, though. One: I need to cut myself some slack. Two: I am totally gonna PR again. Eventually. — Aidz

Leave a Reply

