Words to Run By

2040762301811832_4xjSny3s_fEvery day, it seems, the three of us are dispensing running advice. Whether through this blog (which was one of the reasons we started in the first, place, of course) or friends/friends-of-friends, we love to do it. You’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

And we still seek advice often. There’s always someone more experienced, faster, stronger, fitter, smarter, and everyone has an opinion. When it comes down to it, though, each of us has received one small nugget of wisdom that has shone above the rest.

Here, we share the best running advice we’ve ever received.

Amie: “If you want to run faster, run faster.” I lived by the “talk test” for years. If I couldn’t talk while running, I was going too fast — that’s the rule. And that is a good rule to follow if you’re just learning how to run, but if you want to be faster, you have to run faster. It’s so simple. Push yourself. Forget about talking, feel the pain in your lungs, the fatigue in your legs. Don’t be afraid to hurt because it’s the only way you’re going to improve your time.

Mags: “You never regret a run, but you do regret skipping one.” This phrase comes to mind every early morning when all I want to do is stay in bed. Every evening after a grueling day at work when all I want to do is eat tacos and watch movies. Every time I just don’t feel like lacing up my shoes and hitting the pavement. And you know what? This advice has never failed me.

Aidz: “If you went running when you first started thinking about it, you’d be back by now.” Whenever I hear people say they just don’t have time to run, I think of this phrase. Shoot, if people spent as much time running as they did complaining about not having the time to go for a run, things would be a lot simpler. Running is such a simple thing. Just do it. As Maggie said, you’ll never regret having done it. So go already!

2 thoughts on “Words to Run By

  1. So true. A few years ago I learned about running as fast as you can, not as fast as you want. Often I would get tired or something would hurt and I would slow down a bit. Who needs a PR anyway, right? The only way to run faster is to run as fast as you can.
    Something always hurts, I’m a runner. If I run long enough I always get tired. Helllo!
    Nothing happens untill you do something, so get out there and run and stop talking/thinking about it!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Talk with yourself | Studio 1215 news Blog

Leave a Reply

