Gear Check: YakTrax

1480565_10100360671224104_1147026142_nWinter is coming. Er, hold that thought. It’s HERE, folks. It’s here in its full winter glory.

I, for one, could not be more excited. No, I’m not crazy — I have YakTrax.

I’ve actually HAD a pair of YakTrax for three winters now, but thanks to a freakishly warm winter and a Christmas baby, I hadn’t had a chance to use them until this year. And I’m happy to report they’re all I dreamed they would be and more.

Basically, YakTrax are like snow tires for your shoes. They fit around your shoes and provide solid traction on snow and ice. I think they work best on a fresh layer of snow, but they also get the job done on the packed-down stuff that’s still hanging around after a few days of snow.

The only downside comes when you have to navigate long stretches of plowed pavement. The metal coils on the YakTrax are rather grating over more than a couple yards on concrete. However,  if you get out and realize you don’t need your YakTrax, they’re easy to remove and small enough to carry, so it’s not a huge issue.

Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow! Here’s to wintery adventures, snow angels. — Aidz

3 thoughts on “Gear Check: YakTrax

  1. Reblogged this on I'm a runner and so can you and commented:
    I saw this post a few weeks ago and wantd to pass it along. We are due for yet another snow storm here in the Boston area. Running during a storm or through it’s remains can be trecherous. We all need to get in our training for spring races, but we need to avoid injury as well. I know people who have used YakTrax and like them.
    What do you use for winter traction?

    Like

  2. I’ve thought about getting them but always wondered how well they worked. If the weather continues to be this snowy I may have to get a pair!

    Like

Leave a Reply

