Bad Angel Rule #163

Reframe it.

I can’t tell you how often people ask me, “How do you find the time to run so much?” I just do. But then I realized that I might think about running differently than most people because usually their next statement goes something like this, “I hate running, I don’t understand how you do it.”

Well, I reframe it. I don’t think of running as work. I don’t think of running as hard or boring or awful. When I think of running, I think of …

  • Me time
  • Quiet time
  • Therapy
  • Productivity
  • Accomplishment

I realized all of these things are positive. I don’t associate negativity with running (until I’m at mile 10 of a hilly long run and I have to tap into some serious self-talk to finish strong).

Like anything in your life, if you approach it from a place of disdain, you’re likely to get those results. When you walk into work and you’re angry, what happens? People reflect anger. If you walk in with a smile, you’ll get a smile. Running is the same way, so try reframing it. Approach it with an open heart and imagine it as indulgent, as the one part of your day dedicated to you.

It sounds simple, but this shift in your mindset might make all the difference in your personal performance. In life and in running. — Amie

Leave a Reply

