Hunger Games

45038272Growwwwwl.

GROWWWWL.

Ugh, it’s 10 p.m. and my stomach will not stop growling. Why am I so HUNGRY? Ah yes, I must be in full-fledged-training-can’t-keep-up-with-my-calories mode. 

This always happens to me at some point in training. The hunger takes over and I can’t seem to get enough to eat. I partake in 4-5 meals a day, each one very protein-heavy. I shouldn’t feel hungry all the time, but I’m at the point where my metabolism has kicked into high gear and I’m insatiable. No more skipping breakfast, and empty carbs aren’t worth the effort since their benefit lasts about 4 seconds. Here are some strategies that work for me:

  • Eat eggs for breakfast. And sometimes for lunch and dinner. Just slice an egg on the side and enjoy, because they are super filling and delicious.
  • Greek yogurt! It’s thick and filling and has double the protein of the other stuff, and the lactose is almost entirely removed (yay!). There are some amazing flavors, so I like to eat them for dessert after dinner. An extra protein-punch, if you will.
  • Fiber. Oatmeal is my go-to. I eat it every single day, usually for my afternoon snack. Skip the sugary stuff, add fruit instead.
  • Nuts. I can’t enjoy my almonds the way I used to (my son is allergic) but the rest of you should totally eat these. ALL THE TIME.
  • Drink your water. Sometimes, hunger pains are just thirst in disguise. Be sure you are hydrated.

And, obviously, eat lots of lean meats with your meals, unless you are a vegan/vegetarian, and you know what to do.

But don’t ignore your body — eat more if it demands more. Just be smart about it because you get out what you put in, and I’m guessing that Cheetos, while tasty, might not be the high-octane fuel your body craves. — Amie

 

2 thoughts on “Hunger Games

  1. Full marathon training is the worst, try to reach for healthy food if you can! It’ll pay off in the end.

    Like

  2. I just wrote about this same issue! my hunger is out of control! Thanks for the tips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

