Bad Angel Rule #168

Training is Cool.

“Ever thought about qualifying for Boston?”

It was an innocent enough question from a co-worker who knows little-to-nothing about running. What I wanted to say? “YES, YOU IDIOT! IT’S BASICALLY ALL I HAVE BEEN THINKING ABOUT FOR THE LAST 6 MONTHS!!!” But I didn’t. Instead, I waited a beat and replied, “Actually, yes, I’m training to qualify at the Chicago Marathon in October.”

“That’s cool,” he said.

THAT’S COOL?!?! Oh wait. Hang on a second. It is cool. Training, I mean.

Training doesn’t get the glory that a race does. We look at training as a chore. With a heavy sigh we’ll declare, “I can’t go to the bar tonight because I have a 14-mile training run in the morning.”

But remember: the journey can be just as fulfilling as the destination.

So I’m going to try to stop treating training like the pain in the ass it often is. It’s putting in work for something I care about, and yeah, that’s pretty cool. — Mags

Leave a Reply

