Breakfast of Champions

Screen Shot 2014-08-19 at 10.06.48 AMThe Best Part of Waking Up Is A Smoothie In Your Cup.

For years, my husband has chided me for my lackluster breakfast-eating. But I’m just not a breakfast kinda gal. Since high school, I’ve been grabbing a granola bar or a baggie of cereal as I head out the door and calling it breakfast.

And I’m even worse about consuming the allotted amount of fruit one is supposed to eat during the day. I love salads and vegetables and all that jazz, but I’ve never been one to snack on grapes or apples mid-afternoon. (Please. I snack on popcorn.)

Well, somewhere along the line, I started “eating” smoothies for breakfast. My loving husband makes them every morning for the entire family and leaves mine in my car. And, they’re pretty awesome. Not only do I get a good start to the day with actual real foods for breakfast, but it’s portable and convenient — and a really easy way to sneak a bunch of fruit into my daily lineup. Even better? They’re packed full of important running fuel that helps me get through the day and last through a mid-day run.

Not to mention, when I start the day with a smoothie, I tend to make better food choices throughout the day.

I don’t always love having a smoothie right before I go for a run because 1) drinking a big drink makes me have to pee, and 2) dairy plus running isn’t always a win. However, smoothies are great in the morning if you’re planning an afternoon run. (They’re also a great second-breakfast choice if you’re planning an early morning run.)

Looking for some runner-friendly smoothie ingredients? Try some of these:

  • Banana (the base of every delicious smoothie)
  • Almond milk (sweeter than cow’s milk and just all around yummy)
  • Chocolate milk
  • Greek yogurt (a tangy zip that’ll stick to your bones for a few hours)
  • Raspberries
  • Blueberries
  • Blackberries
  • Strawberries
  • Orange juice
  • Honey
  • Pineapple
  • A dash of cinnamon
  • Peanut butter or almond butter (for an extra protein kick)
  • Nutella (because come on, who doesn’t like Nutella?)

Generally, we take a combination of the above list and combine it with a protein powder. And I know. I KNOW. Protein powder is gross-tastic. But when you hide it in a bunch of delicious ingredients, it’s non-offensive and helps you stay full longer. Oh, and it protects your muscles and aids recovery and all that other good stuff. Anyway, there are a bajillion different protein powders to choose from, so find a flavor you don’t hate and go from there.

So even if you don’t believe breakfast is the most important meal of the day (totally with you if you’re in this camp), you can still make breakfast work for you — and your busy running schedule. Go forth and blend. — Aidz

4 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. Pingback: Bad Angel Rules for Running | Runner Confessional #2

  2. Pingback: Bad Angel Rules for Running | Nutrition Basics

  3. Heck yeah! I’m keeping that guy around for a few more days.

    Like

  4. Really, in the car? I drive a 2007 green Subaru. It’s parked out front. I like my smoothies with strawberries and nectarines please and Thank You. Breakfast will definitely work for me if someone else makes it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

