Bad Angel Rule #195

Barefoot Running Club

Day 1 was cold and windy, but we tackled the hills together.

Start a Running Club.

I run twice a week right after work, and people at the office constantly tell me they want to join me. So, it just made sense to start a running club. And guess what? Over 25 people have signed up! What what?!

This isn’t the first time I’ve started a running club, but here’s how I approached this one:

  1. Send out the all-company email. Keep it light and to the point. Gently remind folks to reply to only you.
  2. Give people two days to choose from. In our club, we run on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 4:45. People can sign up for one or both.
  3. Send out invites and block calendars.
  4. Remind folks to come when they can. Of course, work comes first.
  5. Assign a route for each day. Tuesdays are our “hard” days with bridges (re: hills) and Thursdays are our “easy” days, when we run flat and slow. Put a link to the route in the invites for reference.
  6. Assign two group leaders. One person can run with the faster folks, and one can go with the slower folks.
  7. Remind everyone we are here to support each other. Racing is optional and must be set up before each run. Jokes are welcome.
  8. Have fun! And get ready for some serious camaraderie.

I love running and I love my job, so I can’t tell you how fun it is to be able to bring these things together. I’ve also met people from other teams I would never have known otherwise. I love the energy it brings to the office while sharing the benefits that come from running — stress relief, community and fitness.

If you are lucky enough to be able to do this at your place of business, I highly encourage it. Happiness is only real when shared, so get out there and share the love of running! — Amie

One thought on “Bad Angel Rule #195

  1. Great ideas! I wish I could get my coworkers to run with me, lol!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

