Things You Shouldn’t Say To An Injured Runner

Things You Shouldn’t Say To An Injured Runner

“What’s the big deal?”

 

“Have you tried ____? What about ____? Have you thought about doing ____?”

Gosh, no! I didn’t know you were a doctor! Thank you so much!

 

“Tell me all about how you got injured and your long timeline of rehab and treatments because talking about it more is exactly what you want to do.”

Nope. Don’t wanna talk about it. And let’s be real, you don’t really want to hear about it. So let’s just not do this.

 

“Let me tell you about my injury that I had a long time ago that is in no way related to yours.”

Misery loves company, right? Right.

 

“Can’t you just take up swimming or biking?”

No. No I can’t.

 

“See? I told you running is terrible for you.”

Punch. Stab. Kill.

 

Things You SHOULD Say To An Injured Runner

 

“I’m sorry. That sucks. I know how important running is to you.”

That’s all we want to hear. Seriously. It’s that simple.

One thought on “Things You Shouldn’t Say To An Injured Runner

Leave a Reply

