Getting Away on a Getaway

Kara-GoucherUpon my return from a weeklong family vacation in Florida, Maggie asked me, “What was the best part of your vacation?”

I said, “This is going to sound weird, but it was the running.”

“No,” she replied, “that doesn’t sound weird to me.”

Allow me to explain.

Since my husband and I don’t live near our families, we take vacations to go see them. And while it does mean that we get to spend time with family on vacations, it also means that my family can help with our kids so my husband and I can have some rare alone time.

And for us, the best way to spend alone time is to spend it running.

1960011_10100712641797254_5360235824791002871_nOur last day at the beach, we rolled out of bed and headed to the beach for one last spin through the sand. It was a beautiful day with light wind. The sun shone brightly, and the beach was just starting to show signs of fellow tourists. We left behind the headphones, so our soundtrack consisted of crashing waves, squeaking seagulls and our own mindless chatter. We stopped to admire sandcastles, looked for silver dollars on the shoreline and even spotted dolphins dancing in the distance.

I was a pretty perfect little run.

I guess the reason I felt “weird” (re: GUILTY) about identifying this as my favorite part of vacation was because I had just returned from a really nice family trip. So I felt like a bad mother by pinpointing the time away as my favorite part.

But, as Kara Goucher wisely stated, “That’s the thing about running: your greatest runs are rarely measured by racing success. They are moments in time when running allows you to see how wonderful your life is.”

And that’s exactly how it was for me on vacation. Running was the time to myself that helped me appreciate all of the other things I lose sight of when I’m in the daily trenches. And for that, I am grateful. — Aidz

 

Leave a Reply

